The avant-garde Norwegian group SHINING — whose unique “blackjazz” hybrid of extreme progressive metal, experimental jazz-fusion and industrial precision has earned extensive international acclaim – will release One One One, their first studio album in three years, this spring. The album, which is available now for pre-order, will be released by Prosthetic Records in North America digitally on April 23, with physical releases on CD and gatefold LP to follow soon after. A teaser for the forthcoming music video for first single I Won’t Forget can be seen at this location.

One One One digital release set for April 23; pre-order for CD and LP available now

Mixed and co-produced by Sean Beaven (NIN, Marilyn Manson, Slayer) and mastered by Tom Baker at Precision Mastering (Avenged Sevenfold, Deftones, Ministry), One One One sees SHINING expanding on the musical palettes introduced on 2010’s landmark Blackjazz. That album – hailed by the New York Times as “a radioactive alloy of jazz and black metal” – scored a Norwegian Grammy nomination, cracked the Norwegian Top 10 and saw the group tour around the globe, from high-profile U.S. events like SXSW and CMJ to the large stages of European summer festivals. One such performance was captured on Live Blackjazz, an ambitious CD/DVD released on 11.11.11 that saw the group perform the album in full before a sold-out crowd in their home country.

SHINING has already performed One One One live in its entirety in Norway, after which they were awarded the prestigious Statoil scholarship – essentially a grant to be used toward international touring. Accordingly, the band is already making plans to return to America, where their 2012 SXSW performance earned rave reviews.

It will be the latest step on an unorthodox career path that began with two acoustic jazz albums released at the turn of the century. From there, SHINING began to incorporate progressive rock and experimental metal influences on their next two releases, after which they famously collaborated with progressive black metal Vikings Enslaved on a concerto commissioned by a top European jazz festival. That union helped to influence the musical direction of Blackjazz, which in turn begat One One One.

“While One One One is meant to complete the Blackjazz Trilogy, it’s also definitely the catchiest and most immediate music we’ve ever recorded, thereby paving the way for another bright and brand new version of ourselves,” says SHINING front man Jørgen Munkeby.

“The idea this time around was to make a series of jazz-metal hits with no fillers, hence the name of the album, and I believe we’ve managed to do just that. I have never been as proud of an album as I am with this one.”

The future is not only bright — it’s SHINING.

One One One track listing:
1. I Won’t Forget
2. The One Inside
3. My Dying Drive
4. Off The Hook
5. Blackjazz Rebels
6. How Your Story Ends
7. The Hurting Game
8. Walk Away
9. Paint The Sky Black

ABORYM Premiere New Track [PL: Nowy utwór ABORYM dostępny on-line]

Extreme electro/industrial metallers ABORYM premiered the first song off their upcoming album entitled Dirty. The new double album will be available in jewel case, double digi-pack and gatefold double LP formats, is set for release on Agonia Records on May 28 in Europe and June 11 in North America.

The album opener Irreversible Crisis can be streamed at YouTube:

ABORYM started life as a covers band and went through several transformations, eventually pioneering what the band calls hard-industrial-electro extreme metal. Today’s line up consists of Italians Fabban on vocals, bass and Synths and Paolo Pieri (Hour Of Penance) on guitars, keyboards and programming, together with Norway’s Bard “Faust” Eithun (Blood Tsunami, Mongo Ninja, ex-Emperor) on drums.

The first CD will feature completely new material, and the second CD will include two completely re-arranged and re-recorded tracks from previous albums, covers of tracks by Iron Maiden, Pink Floyd and Nine Inch Nails, as well as a previously unreleased track written by Alberto Penzin (CO2, ex-Schizo) and performed by both established as well as several fans of the band.

CD 1

Irreversible Crisis
Across the Universe
Raped By Daddy
I Don’t Know
The Factory of Death
Helter Skelter Youth
Face the Reptile
The Day the Sun Stopped Shining

CD 2
Fire Walk With Us (new version originally released on Fire Walk With Us)
Roma Divina Urbs (new version originally released on Kali Yuga Bizarre)
Hallowed Be Thy Name (Iron Maiden Cover)
Comfortably Numb (Pink Floyd Cover)
Hurt (Nine Inch Nails Cover)
Need for limited loss (new track)

Dirty is now available for pre-orders in all formats at:

Request ABORYM on The Welding Room. Send Death Threats/Complaints to now.

More information about ABORYM can be found on the band’s website at and facebook at

Continue reading